

## Contact:

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Curtis Brown A Chairman Lisa Schott • Vice Chairman Michael Neukamm Secretary Vincent Cimino Treasurer Kevin Chilton A Tammy Sudler President & CEO James Lovell A Chairman Emeritus

Scott Altman John Blaha Larry Bradley Daniel Brandenstein Richard Covey Charles Duke Chris Ferguson Fred Gregory Joseph Han Jeffrey Hoffman Charles Precourt Brewster Shaw Kathryn Thornton Al Worden

**BOARD OF TRUSTEES** Laura Shepard-Churchley Chairman Andrew Allen **Rick Armstrong** Ann Brown Ed Buckbee Patricia Carpenter Suzi Cooper **Richard Garriott** Robert "Hoot" Gibson **Rebecca Griffin** Seth Jonas Jarret Lafleur ● James Long James Mault Joseph Maver Lawrence McGlynn Harvey Miller **Dirk Raemdonck** Thomas Stafford Carol Fitzgerald Tyler HONORARY TRUSTEES LeVar Burton Tom Hanks

> Founder ★ Astronaut ▲ Scholar ●

Henri Landwirth 🖈

Laura Cutchens Executive Vice President External Affairs Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Office: 407-403-5907 Cell: 407-474-3196 laura@astronautscholarship.org

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 24, 2017

## Astronaut Mike Collins to Give Keynote Address at the Innovators Gala

Apollo 11 astronaut to remember Neil Armstrong and welcome 2017-2018 Astronaut Scholar Class

**Orlando, FL** — Apollo 11 command module pilot, astronaut Mike Collins, will be the keynote speaker at the Innovators Gala to be held September 16, 2017 at the JW Marriott in Washington, D.C. Collins will headline the event introducing the 45 members of the 2017-2018 Astronaut Scholar class and the first recipient of the Neil Armstrong<sup>™</sup> Award of Excellence.

Attendees at the Innovators Gala will have the unique opportunity of hearing from Collins, who served as pilot for the Gemini X mission in 1966 and command module pilot for Apollo 11 in 1969.

The event is highlighted by the presentation of the 45 members of the 2017-2018 Astronaut Scholar class who represent the best and brightest of college students pursuing science, technology, engineering and math. In addition, the inaugural Neil Armstrong Award of Excellence will be presented to Astronaut Scholar, Patrick Biltgen.

"I am pleased to have this opportunity to honor the legacy of my dear friend Neil Armstrong," Collins said. "I am only sorry that Neil is not here to honor Patrick directly, as the two of them, I am sure, would enjoy knowing each other."

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization established by the Mercury Astronauts in 1984. The Foundation's mission is to aid the United States in retaining its world leadership in technology and innovation by supporting the very best and brightest scholars in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics while commemorating the legacy of America's pioneering astronauts.

ASF awards 45, \$10,000 scholarships to outstanding college juniors and seniors nationwide with support from astronauts from the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab, Space Shuttle and Space Station programs who participate in this educational endeavor.

###