

CONTACT:

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Curtis Brown 🔺 Chairman Lisa Schott • Vice Chairman Michael Neukamm Secretary Vincent Cimino Treasurer Kevin Chilton 🔺 Tammy Sudler President & CEO James Lovell Chairman Emeritus Scott Altman

John Blaha 🔺 Larry Bradley 🔴 Daniel Brandenstein 🔺 Richard Covey Charles Duke Chris Ferguson 🔺 Fred Gregory 🔺 Joseph Han 🔴 Jeffrev Hoffman 🔺 Charles Precourt Brewster Shaw Kathryn Thornton 🔺 Al Worden 🔺

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Laura Shepard-Churchley Chairman Andrew Allen **Rick Armstrong** Ann Brown Ed Buckbee Patricia Carpenter Suzi Cooper **Richard Garriott** Robert "Hoot" Gibson **Rebecca Griffin** Seth Jonas Jarret Lafleur ● James Long James Mault Joseph Mayer Lawrence McGlynn Harvey Miller **Dirk Raemdonck** Thomas Stafford Carol Fitzgerald Tyler HONORARY TRUSTEES LeVar Burton Tom Hanks Henri Landwirth 🖈

> Founder ★ Astronaut Scholar •

Laura Cutchens

Executive Vice President External Affairs Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Office: 407-403-5907 Cell: 407-474-3196 Email: laura@astronautscholarship.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 23, 2017

MISSISSIPPI STATE UNIVERSITY ADDED TO LIST OF ASTRONAUT SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM Students now eligible for \$10,000 scholarships partly funded by living astronauts

ORLANDO – Mississippi State University will join 35 other top research universities nationwide, including MIT and Georgia Tech, as the newest participant in the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation's prestigious, merit-based scholarship worth \$10,000 each to outstanding college juniors and seniors and partially supported by living astronauts of America's storied space programs, officials announced Wednesday.

Established in 1984 by six surviving members of Project Mercury astronauts who partook in the first human spaceflight program of the United States from 1958 through 1963, the scholarships intend to reward top college students with majors in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields.

"We are pleased to welcome Mississippi State University into the Astronaut Scholarship Program," said ASF Board Chairman Curt Brown, an astronaut and veteran of six space flights. "Its commitment to leadership in science and technology is in keeping with the vision of American's space pioneers who blazed a trail for the United States and captured the imagination of the world. By participating in this effort, Mississippi State will help the U.S. maintain its leading edge by recognizing and rewarding their best STEM students."

Mississippi State was one of five universities that were vetted and added to the program in August due to the significant research opportunities available for undergraduate students. The other universities included the University of California, Berkeley, the University of Massachusetts, Colorado State University, and Auburn University.

Next month, astronaut Mike Collins, who served as pilot for the Gemini X mission in 1966 and command module pilot for Apollo 11 in 1969, will be the keynote speaker at the Innovators Gala to be held Sept. 16 in Washington DC. The event will introduce the 45 members of the 2017-2018 Astronaut Scholar class and the first recipient of the Neil Armstrong[™] Award of Excellence. Armstrong passed away in December 2016.

Based in Orlando, the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation annually funds up to \$10,000 scholarships for 50 students, as well as has a life-long relationship with each recipient providing them with many programs and opportunities. The foundation has the support of astronauts from the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab, Space Shuttle and Space Station programs who participate in this educational effort. ASF also accepts other contributions.

-30-

EDUCATION IS THE CORNERSTONE OF KNOWLEDGE 651 Danville Drive, Suite 101 | Orlando, FL 32825 | 407-362-7900 info@astronautscholarship.org | www.astronautscholarship.org